Absolute beginner - VB.Net desktop app.

Topics: SharpMap v2.0, WinForms Controls
Sep 1, 2007 at 6:51 AM
I am having trouble getting started with SharpMap & am wondering whether there are any more samples?

I would like to make a stand-alone desktop application using Visual Basic 2005 Express Edition. The application will have a SharpMap control displaying map layers with some vehicles displayed on top - basically a vehicle tracking application.

First question - is it actually possible? It appears from the screen shots that it should be possible.

If so, how do I get started?

I downloaded the binaries (binary09) & the vb demo (demo09vb). The VB demo doesn't look like anything I have seen before (no *.sln file or no *.vbproj file) and when I open VB2005 & use Open Project & look in the demo09_vb folder with it doesn't show me any project files that I can open.

So, I thought I would try my own, by starting a new Project. I loaded in AjaxMapControl & MapImage to the toolbar with the Choose Items menu option. This puts AjaxMapControl & MapImage in the toolbar (though AjaxMapControl is greyed out & cannot be dragged to a form - not sure if that is normal or not). Anyway, I drag the MapImage to a new form & get 4 errors, the first of which is:
Type 'SharpMap.Map' is not defined.
Type 'SharpMap.Layers.ILayer' is not defined.
Type 'SharpMap.Geometries.Point' is not defined.
Reference required to assembly 'SharpMap, Version=0.9.2423.31552, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' containing the type 'SharpMap.Map'. Add one to your project.

Possibly I am supposed to add a Reference, but I cannot see an appropriate one in the NET or COM section of Project/Add Reference.

Can anyone spot what I am doing wrong in my initial setup?

Oh, one more possible cause of or clue to the problem. When I run either of the 2 EXE files in the demos I do not see any maps either. This seems to indicate a setup problem to me. I have left a screen dump to show what I am talking about: