Total Newbie Question

Topics: SharpMap v2.0, WinForms Controls
Nov 5, 2007 at 5:12 AM
Is is possible to do this with SharpMap in a Winform?

1) Draw a rubberband or bounding box and have the map zoom to what you selected? I see in the samples you can click the Zoom button and it just zooms when you click, but I really want to zoom to a particular area.
2) Return a list of items that fall into that rubberband or bounding box? For example, lets say I added a layer with Call Centers around the world. If I draw a box around a particular area, I can identify what Call Centers fall within that box?
3) Are there any more examples out there to look at to see how to do these things other then the three to download?

Thanks
C
Coordinator
Nov 5, 2007 at 9:42 AM
This is all built in to v2.0.

Just set the map's ActiveTool property to the Zoom tool, and draw on the map control. You can set the tool to Query and get the features on each layer which intersect the query region.
Nov 5, 2007 at 3:52 PM
I did that, but I am not getting the functionality I am looking for. I downloaded the WMS sample, which is similar to what I am trying to do. What happened is that if I click on the ZOOM IN button and try to draw on the map, the minute I click on the map it zooms. So I cannot draw a bounding box to zoom too.

This tool seems really cool, but being that I am a developer and not a GIS guy, I am just having a hard time understanding how to make it work like I need. Are there any other samples out there other then the three to download? Or can someone send me a sample of doing the things I mentioned above?