Adding JPG file to a SharpMap

Topics: SharpMap v0.9 / v1.x, Web Controls
Nov 16, 2007 at 2:03 PM
I am new to GIS programming and SharpMap, and trying to find my way through it. In the web example code MapHelper.InitializeMap, I found the map object being loaded with various layers of ShapeFiles, what I would like to do is add a layer of JPG image to the map (version 0.9). How do i do that? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

//Initialize a new map of size 'imagesize'
SharpMap.Map map = new SharpMap.Map(size);

//Set up the countries layer
SharpMap.Layers.VectorLayer layCountries = new SharpMap.Layers.VectorLayer("Countries");
//Set the datasource to a shapefile in the App_data folder
layCountries.DataSource = new SharpMap.Data.Providers.ShapeFile(HttpContext.Current.Server.MapPath(@"~\App_data\countries.shp"), true);
Developer
Nov 17, 2007 at 11:13 AM
http://www.codeplex.com/SharpMap/Wiki/View.aspx?title=Data%20formats%20supported&referringTitle=Home
using ogrprovider
Coordinator
Nov 17, 2007 at 7:59 PM
Right, since a JPG is a raster (vs. vector) format, you need to use a raster data provider. The OGR data provider gives you this capability. I understand that the setup of the OGR provider can either go swimmingly, or be some trouble, but I don't have enough experience with it to know why it's one or the other. It worked for me the one time I used it, but I know others have had problems setting it up. This situation should improve for SharpMap v2.0.
Nov 20, 2007 at 4:40 PM

codekaizen wrote:
Right, since a JPG is a raster (vs. vector) format, you need to use a raster data provider. The OGR data provider gives you this capability. I understand that the setup of the OGR provider can either go swimmingly, or be some trouble, but I don't have enough experience with it to know why it's one or the other. It worked for me the one time I used it, but I know others have had problems setting it up. This situation should improve for SharpMap v2.0.

Hi,

interested me too :)