Examples?

Topics: General Topics, SharpMap v0.9 / v1.x, Web Controls
Jan 13, 2008 at 7:35 AM

Hello SharpMappers!

I’m just getting started, here is my situation. I’m hoping someone can point me in the right directions.

Background:
- Existing ASP.Net Web App in C#, looking to add some basic GIS functionality
- I have existing shape files with thousands of property ‘lots’ (small polygons) I’d like to work with.
- No other data files
- No requirement for Ajax yet (seems a little harder to work with for now, is that true?)

The basic needs of our application are:

First…
- From an (object) list of ‘properties’ (which contains block and lot IDs), highlight these properties on the map (which are in the shape file, including the block and lot id’s).
- We’ll have an object list of LOTS … I’d like to find these in the Shape file, and highlight them on the map when the user clicks “Display on Map”.

Second…
- From the map… allow the user to select (rectangle, circle?) an area, and return a list (from the shape file), to the application.

We want to add more functionality in the future, but this is enought for now.

Questions:

- Are there some fairly functional SharpMap web map app examples available? I’ve downloaded a couple very simple apps that have pan/zoom functions only. Seems like with all the developers here there should be some more code sharing going on? Is there a code sharing area?

- Also possibly looking for contractor support, from developers here online. Please contact me off-list to discuss.

- Are there other tutorials around that give an overview of SharpMap? I have the doc’s but no introduction and overview.

- Can you import Shape files into SQL Server…

- Can someone tell me where I can find a comparison between sharpmap .9 and 2.0?

Thanks for all help in advance.

Joe
Coordinator
Jan 17, 2008 at 4:24 PM
Hi Joe -

You can find a comparison of v0.9 (really v1) vs v2 here: Features.