SharpMap and SQL question to DBF file

Topics: Data Access, General Topics, SharpMap v0.9 / v1.x, SharpMap v2.0
Jan 28, 2008 at 1:44 PM
Is it any way to do a SQL question like "COLUMN32 = 1" and get all featureid that the column "COLUMN32" are = 1 ?

i working with OLDEB to get information from DBF file but in DBF file i dont can get the OID number that uses with shapefile.getfeature(OID)

Someone that have one idea how i can do?
Feb 19, 2008 at 7:53 PM
I've been fighting with this. I'm pretty new with both .NET and SharpMap, so there's probably better ways to do this, but
here's a way that works for me:
1. Create a DataTable object and add an auto-increment column. I call the new column "FID".
2. Use a DataAdapter to fill the DataTable with the entire DBF for the shapefile. The result will be a DataTable that has an extra field ("FID") with the featureID.
3. Use the "Select" method on the DataTable to select only those records that meet your search criteria. That will give you an
array of DataRow() objects, and you can use the "FID" field to do shapefile.getfeature(OID).

This works because the query retrieves the entire table, and it will be in the default order.
Here's my code. At the end, it retrieves the geometries of the selected records and adds them to a list of Geometry objects
that is used as the provider for a vector layer in the map. mymap.Refresh() then redraws the map and the selected features
show up nicely highlighted.

This is in VB. I'm a VB guy. Sorry.

Private Sub SelectByAttributes_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles SelectByAttributes.Click
' Need to do a query against a shapefile.
' Get the layer of interest ("firehouses")
Dim vL As SharpMap.Layers.VectorLayer
vL = mymap.Map.GetLayerByName("firehouses")

' Get the filename and use it to create a connection string for an OleDbConnection:
Dim oFinfo As System.IO.FileInfo
oFinfo = My.Computer.FileSystem.GetFileInfo(vL.DataSource.ConnectionID)