how to cache a map in a desktop application?

Topics: Data Access
Jul 19, 2010 at 1:55 PM
Edited Jul 19, 2010 at 1:55 PM

I'm currently writing a desktop application, which should display several layers of shapefile, colored by an attribute given from a .dbf.

So far, so good. I'm able to color the lines, I can display several layers at once, but the performance is pretty bad.

So I wanted to cache the map, and because this is my first project with SharpMap I have no clue how to solve this.

I'm searching now for several days for an explanation, but either I'm unable to find something or I found something but didn't realise that this might be my solution (I guess, this one).

Now I'm asking you, if you could show me sample code of how to cache a map in a desktop application, please. This would be really helpful!

Jul 19, 2010 at 4:18 PM
Edited Jul 19, 2010 at 4:19 PM

it's me again.

Now I tried

System.Drawing.Image mapImg = _Map.GetMap();

imgID = SharpMap.Web.Caching.InsertIntoCache(10, mapImg);
 pbMap.ImageLocation = "getmap.aspx?ID=" + HttpUtility.UrlEncode(imgID);

but I receive a NullReferenceException at SharpMap.Web.Caching....

Then I tried
Cache cache = new Cache();
Cache.Insert as listed in all the examples in the internet doesn't work, so I tried it this way, but the result is another
NullReferenceException at the Insert line.

Is the code wrong? (I guess so) Do you know, why I am getting such an exception? I already tested it mapImg and
imgID are initialised before that so it has to be something with the cache...

Thank you!

Jul 19, 2010 at 6:56 PM

Hello apr_shlf,

are you doing a desktop application or a web application? If you are doing the first, Web.Caching is not the way to go.

You say it's slow: Could you give some statistics about your data?

Maybe using a database driven provider (SqlServer2008, PostGis, SpatiaLite) would suit your needs better, since you could limit your dataset with a definition query string.

Hth FObermaier