Getting started with SharpMap disappointed me

Topics: Algorithms, Data Access, General Topics, SharpMap Project, WinForms Controls
May 7, 2008 at 4:57 PM
Hi
I am a newbie here and I was fascinated hearing about GIS source like this. I downloaded the demo win form and checked what SharpMap has for me. I was disappointed that the map box did not show any thing and many controls in the win form did not respond at all (except just that it gets depressed for the click!!!) On of the keys added layers in the left checkedlist but I did not see any thing on the map box on the right panel. It was just blank.

I then decided to figure out myself and downloaded the win form client source code with SharpMap and SharpMap.UI projects. Since I use VS Express edition latest, I had to convert the source code to latest (which is done by express edition itself on agreeing upon a prompted dialog box). But I was disappointed to see that the Form Design (actual window form where you drag controls in from toobox) did not show up spitting some error. But the code did open. I could not compile the code due to the aforesaid windows problem showing up from the design of the winform.

I then walked through the code of the win form client to check what has been done and tried doing that myself in a fresh project. Initially the main function that loads the map is LoadWms() but when I had the same in my source code, everything went fine (with LoadWms loading the layer objects in the checked list properly) but still nothing was showing up in the map box. As per my understanding initially this is the function that is supposed to be loading the map. It is not throwing any error and it does able to communicate with the server http://www2.demis.nl/mapserver/request.asp, else it would not have been able to populate the checkedlist (I was also able to get other information from server).