Recursion in QuadTree

Topics: Algorithms, Data Access, SharpMap Project, SharpMap v0.9 / v1.x, SharpMap v2.0
Sep 30, 2011 at 11:32 AM

Hi, I have a problem with a huge shape file (1.01 GB). This file has no ".sidx" associated, so sharpmap needs to load the spatial indexes with the QuadTree function. After a while I get the OutOfMemory Exception, as obvious, because the file reaches the child-depth of 22. I'm studying a way to transform the recursive function into a linear function... Any suggestion?

Coordinator
Oct 1, 2011 at 9:24 PM

You may want to have a look at the tree MapServer is using (it is derived from ShapeLib):

http://svn.osgeo.org/mapserver/trunk/mapserver/maptree.c

The license is pretty permissive, too, so you should have no problems porting it.

Hth FObermaier

Oct 3, 2011 at 9:29 AM

Thank you for the answer. I tried to change the CreateSpatialIndex function like this:

Heuristic heur;           

heur.maxdepth = 1; //(int) Math.Ceiling(Math.Log(GetFeatureCount(), 2));

heur.minerror = 10;

heur.tartricnt = 5;

heur.mintricnt = 2;

return new QuadTree(objList, 0, heur);

...I tried this, before get mad with the algorythm conversion... With forcing maxdepth to 1, the entire map takes like 30 sec to load, and like 2-3 seconds to draw the desired region. I can view the map correctly, altough the maxdepth was 22. Why this? I mean... Do I really need to load the entire node structure into _child0 and _child1 to view correctly my shapefile?

Coordinator
Oct 4, 2011 at 10:35 AM

You might get away with clearing the objList right before creating the child nodes in the QuadTree constructor.

I've created a linear version of the QuadTree creation. It still needs some testing, but seems to be faster than the current version

Hth FObermaier

Oct 5, 2011 at 4:02 PM

Great! keep me up to date :)