hello world

May 21, 2008 at 6:23 PM
Hi folks:

I am new here.

I am land surveyor from madrid working with .NET and mono in a  photogrammetry and lidar company using Autocad, microstation and ArcGis.

I hope learn in sharpmap community. I have deep knowledge in projections and geodesy.

I am studying all source code here.

Regards.

Coordinator
May 21, 2008 at 8:08 PM
Welcome, Martin -

Glad you arrived. I probably have some questions about implementing various aspects of the projection library interfaces. We hope to have a factory/interface approach to allow the use of any of a given number of projection libraries (Proj.4, CS-MAP, Proj.Net, etc.), but I don't have much experience outside of Proj.Net. In order to provide just enough flexibility to be more widely usable, the interfaces will require some inspection and probable rework. Your input could help if you find this would be a good place to contribute.
May 21, 2008 at 11:19 PM
hi:

I would like help if you have doubs about projections.

Last year for my university i made a free software in GTK+/C/GSL/mysql for land surveying. I can share this code if people want it.

I have something like a book also but the problem it 's write in spanish. I would like talk about my experiencies in CRS libraries:
- I had a comparative between GEOTRANS and proj.4. Both are needed, but i think are not valid for surveying and GPS, only for GIS.
- both library projections libraries use the book map projections a working manual of Snyder:
http://onlinepubs.er.usgs.gov/djvu/PP/PP_1395.pdf
- For me the GEOTRANS projections modules are the more efficient and more easy to hack in c#. GEOTRANS it ś the most efficient projection library.
- proj.4 it's a library with something like ofuscated OOP in c but  not efficient in the code optimization.
- In my project i use GEOTRANS and the book of snyder. Why?? Well all library projections forget the K factor to distances measurement.