Finding ID from DBF After clicking on Shape

Topics: Data Access
Apr 23, 2012 at 4:32 AM

Hi Guys

So major noob here, just downloaded and installed Sharpmap today.

So far I've followed a few tutorials and am using a picture box to control my map.

Now all I need to do is get the ID of a column from it's associated DBF file when I click on a area of the map (I believe polygon might be the right terminology).

I've tried the How-To Section but it appears that it's not a picture box that the SHP file is in.

Any help would be grand

Coordinator
Apr 23, 2012 at 6:15 AM
Edited Apr 23, 2012 at 9:42 AM

The samples are using SharpMap.UI.Forms.MapBox (or .MapImage) control of the SharpMap.UI project.

Hth FObermaier

Apr 24, 2012 at 12:13 AM

Ahk, sweet.

As I can't find much documentation would you kindly point me in the right direction for it?

Thank you for your reply!

Coordinator
Apr 24, 2012 at 11:17 AM

There is not much documentation. Please evaluate the WinFormSamples project to see usage of MapBox and (deprecated) MapImage

Hth FObermaier

Apr 25, 2012 at 11:03 PM
Edited Apr 26, 2012 at 6:24 AM

Ahk sweet, would you be able to link me? Can't seem to find it... probably right under my nose somewhere....

Edit: I tried to do a MapBox but couldn't use my shapefile with it, as when I tried it gave me an error saying it's 'read only'.

Following the example in the How To with the MapImage I get these problems:

MapImg is the MapImage componant on the form. _SharpMap is the main layer

• MapImg doesn't contain a definition for Layers so I added .Map. before it and then added Layer[0]
  • Now .DataSource No longer has  a definition. Not too sure what to do from here. My Code example is as follows

private void mapImg_MouseUp(SharpMap.Geometries.Point WorldPos, MouseEventArgs ImagePos)
{
 SharpMap.Geometries.Point p = _sharpMap.ImageToWorld(ImagePos.Location);
 _sharpMap.Center.X = p.X;
 _sharpMap.Center.Y = p.Y;