Display GeoTIF or ECW Image

Topics: General Topics
Jan 19, 2007 at 3:58 AM
Hey,

I am loving SharpMap, but am struggling with how to get an ECW or GeoTIF image to display along with my vector data (from a shapefile or MSSQL database). Can anyone post some sample code to show how this is possible?

I have followed the instructions for compiling SharpMap and Extensions (http://sharptools.de/Blog/tabid/203/Default.aspx), but don't get how my image displaying. I think I have to do something with the GDAL provider, but am lost on how to progress. Any help would be appreciated.

Steve
Coordinator
Jan 19, 2007 at 6:01 AM
Hi,

The OGR Provider posted at sharptools.de is only for vetcor data. I will release a renewed
GDAL Provider this weekend for raster image usage (GeoTIFF, ECW, JP2).

Please stay tuned.

best regards
Christian - Mainz/Germany
Jan 20, 2007 at 12:26 AM
Brilliant. It's great to see this mapping tool evolving and improving. I'm fairly new to it, but am finding it fairly user-friendly and capable of doing almost everything I need. Keep up the good work.

Steve
Jan 23, 2007 at 11:17 PM
Hey Christian,

I've downloaded and compiled the latest check-in (#19369) which includes the GDALRasterLayer. I'm trying to get it running, but am having problems. I've compiled it exactly as described on your blog:

http://sharptools.de/Blog/tabid/203/Default.aspx

I've then referenced the compiled files in my aspx page and copied all the 'unmanaged' dependencies (*_wrap.dll) and the gdal14.dll files to my websites Bin directory. When I run the page (which adds a TIF file onto a GDALRasterLayer and then adds it to the map), I get the following:

DllNotFoundException: Unable to load DLL 'gdal_gdal_wrap'...
TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'SWIGExceptionHelper' threw an exception.
TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'GDAL.gdalPINVOKE' threw an exception.