Execute Intersection Query on Collection of Linestrings where provider is GeometryFeatureProvider

Topics: SharpMap v0.9 / v1.x
Sep 18, 2012 at 9:56 AM

I'm new to SharpMap. First of all, I have only Points in postgis database and I need to connect them to corresponding Lines before doing anything else. I've managed to do that with code like this:

Collection<SharpMap.Geometries.Geometry> trajs = new Collection<SharpMap.Geometries.Geometry>();

foreach (DataRow dr1 in ds.Tables["userIds"].Rows)
            {
                da = new NpgsqlDataAdapter("SELECT ST_AsText(l.the_geom) as the_geom from locations l where userid="+dr1["userid"].ToString()+";", connStr);
                da.Fill(ds, "trajektorije");

Collection<SharpMap.Geometries.Point> vertices = new Collection<SharpMap.Geometries.Point>();
                foreach (DataRow dr in ds.Tables["trajektorije"].Rows)
                {
                    vertices.Add((SharpMap.Geometries.Point)SharpMap.Geometries.Geometry.GeomFromText(dr["the_geom"].ToString()));
                }
                SharpMap.Geometries.LineString tempTrajs = new SharpMap.Geometries.LineString(vertices);

trajs.Add(tempTrajs);
            }

TrajectoriesLayer.DataSource = new GeometryFeatureProvider(trajs);
            _sharpMap.Layers.Add(TrajectoriesLayer);

This worked OK, and I showed lines on the map. But later I need to do IntersectionQuery on this layer but this line

TrajectoriesLayer.DataSource.ExecuteIntersectionQuery(poly, fds);

Throws exception "Touches: Not implemented on this geometry type". Can all this be done in some other way?

Coordinator
Sep 18, 2012 at 10:57 AM

SharpMap.Geometries are no longer in use. They only provided limited topology support.

Therefore we have replaced them with NetTopologySuite/GeoAPI geometries. Update your source (or grab it here) and your problems should be gone.

Hth FObermaier

Sep 18, 2012 at 3:15 PM
Edited Sep 18, 2012 at 3:18 PM