Offline Maps with ASP.NET MVC Intranet Application

Topics: CompactFramework
May 21, 2013 at 12:09 PM
I am looking for any Offline Maps(Free maps) to integrate into our ASP.NET MVC intranet application.

Our application will be offline not connected to the internet.

I am quite new to mapping i am very confused about tile concept data etc., how to download maps and integrate into mvc, what to download all that , can anyone please help me or point in right direction please.

We have database table that holds list of Latitude and Longitudes. We would like to query the database table and display the points on the free map where they can do zoom in and zoom out.

We would like to add a pin for each Latitude and Longitude on the MAP programatically.

I was searching for a solution on the internet and SharpMap and OpenStreetMap came up.

Can any one please help me how and where can i find Trinidad and Tobago maps for offline viewing and integrating into our .Net Application please.

Please help.
Editor
May 21, 2013 at 4:08 PM
I would start by looking for your data sources.

Geoserver is a good option for hosting WMS maps, and openstreetmap is a good source of free data.

For something as simple as you are describing, it would probably be easier to use OpenLayers as that can be embedded right in the page, with very little javascript.
May 21, 2013 at 4:34 PM
Thank you so much Robert, This was very important project to me and couple of days ago i was clue less how to solve. Now you put me on right track. Thank you.

I just got couple of eBooks on OpenLayers (cookbook and begineers guide) i will explore.

Cheers
Developer
May 22, 2013 at 8:03 AM
Robert_Smart wrote:
Geoserver is a good option for hosting WMS maps, and openstreetmap is a good source of free data.
For something as simple as you are describing, it would probably be easier to use OpenLayers as that can be embedded right in the page, with very little javascript.