2 problems with labels

Feb 12, 2009 at 3:23 PM
Hello,
I'm a beginner and I'm testing a lot of functions.
Now I have 2 problems with labels:
- When I zoom with the mouse wheel, the labels do not scale (like symbols by the way). This is ugly when the map is zoomed out. Is there any way to change this behavior ?
- The label is in the center of the polygon. but some polygons are like a C, and the center is not in the polygon, but in the other at the right side. Is it possible to have it always in ?

Thanks
Coordinator
Feb 13, 2009 at 9:18 AM
Edited Feb 13, 2009 at 9:19 AM
Hi Riccardo, the labels aren't scaled in 0.9, however there is collision detection which aims to remove overlapping labels based on their importance. Have a look at the LabelFilter property of the LableLayer class, by default it uses simple collision detection. You can change it to ThoroughCollisionDetection by delegating to the appropriate method of the LabelCollisionDetection class (or you can create your own algorithm if you like). To solve the 'C' shaped polygon issue you will have to either create a new dataset of proposed label points where you ensure that each point is inside the associated polygon or modify the CreateLabel method of the LabelLayer hth jd
Feb 13, 2009 at 1:15 PM
Hi
Thanks for the info.
About labels scaling, I've seen the workaround with collision detection. That's all right for me.
About the centroid, I would have a suggestion to do in the code in CreateLabel
if you change :
System.Drawing.PointF position = map.WorldToImage(feature.GetBoundingBox().GetCentroid());
into :
  System.Drawing.PointF position = map.WorldToImage(feature.GetCentroid());
adding this method to Geometry if possible. 
And then you can imagin any method to get the centroid, including boundingbox.centroid().

I don't have the time to write this function right now, but I understand how I can do it.
Thanks a lot.

Coordinator
Feb 13, 2009 at 2:11 PM
Edited Feb 13, 2009 at 2:16 PM