Copy all geometry and features from one shapefile to another

Topics: SharpMap Project, SharpMap v2.0, WinForms Controls
Aug 12, 2009 at 8:44 AM

Hello guys!

I would like to ask you for a litte bit of help.

Here's what I need :

I have some shapefiles and I want to make some new ones. Using C# and SharpMap v2.0, I need to copy from example1.shp to myshape.shp the whole content of example1.shp. System.IO.File.Copy(@"C:\example1", @"C:\destination") is certainly is not an option.

I need to open example1, parse it, and copy each feature and geometry in the newly created myshape.shp (at the time, I have only the header.) Some code snippet would be higly appreciated.

You me be asking why do I need this?
Well, the answer is quite simple : I want to add color info (and some style info maybe) into the layer plus some other things I don't want to mention yet, until it's done and working smooth. (if you want, I could share my work afterwards)

Well, I must mention that I am a beginner with SharpMap. I would also like to apologise for my "not-so-good" english.

I thank you all in advance.

Coordinator
Aug 12, 2009 at 11:13 AM

Hi georgeblaga,

there is a FormatConverter Project in the demo section of the sharpmap solution that might get you started. Just pretend you want to convert from shapefile to shapefile.

Hth

FObermaier

Coordinator
Aug 12, 2009 at 11:33 AM
Edited Aug 12, 2009 at 11:34 AM

Perhaps the ShapeExporter demo would be an easier starting point - that demo takes a shapefile of n records and produces n shapefiles of 1 record - there is less *magic* to get in the way ;) .

hth jd

Aug 12, 2009 at 12:29 PM
Edited Aug 12, 2009 at 12:58 PM

Thanks fobermaier and johndiss for your replies. I really appreciate!