Copy all geometry and features from one shapefile to another

Topics: SharpMap Project, SharpMap v2.0, WinForms Controls
Aug 12, 2009 at 8:44 AM

Hello guys!

I would like to ask you for a litte bit of help.

Here's what I need :

I have some shapefiles and I want to make some new ones. Using C# and SharpMap v2.0, I need to copy from example1.shp to myshape.shp the whole content of example1.shp. System.IO.File.Copy(@"C:\example1", @"C:\destination") is certainly is not an option.

I need to open example1, parse it, and copy each feature and geometry in the newly created myshape.shp (at the time, I have only the header.) Some code snippet would be higly appreciated.

You me be asking why do I need this?
Well, the answer is quite simple : I want to add color info (and some style info maybe) into the layer plus some other things I don't want to mention yet, until it's done and working smooth. (if you want, I could share my work afterwards)

Well, I must mention that I am a beginner with SharpMap. I would also like to apologise for my "not-so-good" english.

I thank you all in advance.

Aug 12, 2009 at 11:13 AM

Hi georgeblaga,

there is a FormatConverter Project in the demo section of the sharpmap solution that might get you started. Just pretend you want to convert from shapefile to shapefile.

Aug 12, 2009 at 11:33 AM
Edited Aug 12, 2009 at 11:34 AM

Perhaps the ShapeExporter demo would be an easier starting point - that demo takes a shapefile of n records and produces n shapefiles of 1 record - there is less *magic* to get in the way ;) .

hth jd

Aug 12, 2009 at 12:29 PM
Edited Aug 12, 2009 at 12:58 PM

Thanks fobermaier and johndiss for your replies. I really appreciate!

But the thing is that I don't want to use converters. I create a new, blank shapefile and then I start adding features from an existing, "genuine" shapefile.Actually, is not really blank, because the create method from the shapefile class writes the file header.