DbaseReader Encoding And Some Question With SharpMap

Topics: Data Access, General Topics, Web Controls
Apr 25, 2007 at 4:35 AM
Edited Apr 25, 2007 at 5:08 PM
Hi.
I'm new in GIS and I start it with SharpMap (ChangeSet 21021).
I have problem with Thai language when read label from shape files
DbaseReader can not detect encoding correctly ;
At DbaseReader.cs function GetDbaseLanguageDriver(byte dbasecode)
dbasecode is always 0 and it return UTF7. Is that correct?;
I not sure with my shape file encoding is, and now I solve ploblem with
import my shape files to PostGIS with UTF8 encoding
and then use pgsql2shp export the shape file to make sure it is UTF8 encoding.

My label have the same problem then I change a line of code in DBaseReader.cs

private void ParseDbfHeader(string filename)
{
if (br.ReadByte() != 0x03)
throw new NotSupportedException("Unsupported DBF Type");
_lastUpdate = new DateTime((int)br.ReadByte() + 1900, (int)br.ReadByte(), (int)br.ReadByte()); //Read the last update date
_NumberOfRecords = br.ReadInt32(); // read number of records.
_HeaderLength = br.ReadInt16(); // read length of header structure.
_RecordLength = br.ReadInt16(); // read length of a record
fs.Seek(29, SeekOrigin.Begin); //Seek to encoding flag
_FileEncoding = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8;//GetDbaseLanguageDriver(br.ReadByte()); //Read and parse Language driver
fs.Seek(32, SeekOrigin.Begin); //Move past the reserved bytes
}
Now I get the correct label.

Can anyone suggest me a little question?
1.Can I change DbaseReader Encoding through LabelLayer? I want to use code like this (For apply to each layer different):
SharpMap.Layers.LabelLayer layKhetLabel = new SharpMap.Layers.LabelLayer("Khet labels");
layKhetLabel.DataSource = layKhet.DataSource;
layKhetLabel.LabelColumn = "NAME";
layKhetLabel.DBaseEncoding = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8;

2.Can I use PostGIS as DataSource? How? What advantage or disadvantage for this?