Problem with connection to SQLExpress using MsSqlSpatial

Topics: Data Access
May 24, 2007 at 10:18 AM

I'm new to both Sharpmap & MsSqlSpatial. Still trying out small programs to learn.
Getting the map using shapefiles was ok. But I have a problem when using SQLExpress.
Using MsSqlSpatial, I have transfered the shapefile to SQLExpress database called testdb.
The tables was created as dbo.district.

I'm using SharpMap-21021 & MsSqlSpatial-22696 & SQLExpress(SQL Server 9.0.2047).

When I run the code, a NullReferenceException occurs at line 615 of MsSqlSpatial.cs (GetExtents() method).
I guess this is due to a problem in my connection.

My program code is as follow (the aspx contains an image as imgMap)

using System;
using System.Data;
using System.Configuration;
using System.Web;
using System.Web.Security;
using System.Web.UI;
using System.Web.UI.WebControls;
using System.Web.UI.WebControls.WebParts;
using System.Web.UI.HtmlControls;
using System.Drawing;
using SharpMap;

public partial class _Default : System.Web.UI.Page
protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
//Initialize a new map of size 'imagesize'
SharpMap.Map myMap = new SharpMap.Map(new System.Drawing.Size((int)imgMap.Height.Value, (int)imgMap.Width.Value));

//Set up a district layer
SharpMap.Layers.VectorLayer layDistricts = new SharpMap.Layers.VectorLayer("Districts");
string ConnStr = @"Server=pcname\sqlexpress;Database=testdb;Uid=sa;Pwd=sa123";
layDistricts.DataSource = new SharpMap.Data.Providers.MsSqlSpatial(ConnStr, "district", "the_geom", "oid");

//Set layer styles
layDistricts.Style.Fill = new SolidBrush(Color.Lavender);
layDistricts.Style.Outline = System.Drawing.Pens.Blue;
layDistricts.Style.EnableOutline = true;

//This is the initial view of the map. Zoom to the extents of the map:

//Render map
System.Drawing.Image img = myMap.GetMap();
string imgID = SharpMap.Web.Caching.InsertIntoCache(1, img);
imgMap.ImageUrl = "getmap.aspx?ID=" + HttpUtility.UrlEncode(imgID);