Example of LabelLayer and LabelStyle in SharpMapv2

Topics: SharpMap v2.0
Jul 1, 2010 at 9:54 PM
Hi All, I am new to sharpmap and I have loaded all the layers and modified my Map. Now I am adding a label layer but I do not see anything on the map. I tried to add it in may different ways on the MapViewerForm but no success. I get an exception on "RenderTransform = value as Matrix2D;" in Renderer2D.cs of SharpMapv2. Please if someone could give me an example or how to initialize and add LabelLayer and LabelStyle to a map. I tried to find examples but all the examples and discussions contained Shaprmapv0.9 LabelLayer. Waiting for a reply. Thanks MHV
Coordinator
Jul 2, 2010 at 10:33 AM
Edited Jul 2, 2010 at 10:33 AM

Hello mhv5362,

you probably did everything right adding the LabelLayer, it is just that the coordinates for the label are not transformed to device coordinates. As a quick fix you need to change

Rectangle2D layoutRectangle = 
new Rectangle2D(label.Location, textSize);

of BasicLabelRenderer2D`1 's RenderLabel function (row 84) to

new Rectangle2D(
            RenderTransform.TransformVector(label.Location.X, label.Location.Y),
  textSize);

You can define the datacolumn for the label like this:

LabelStyle ls = new LabelStyle();
ls.LabelExpression = new PropertyNameExpression(<name of the column>);

Hth FObemaier

new Rectangle2D(
RenderTransform.TransformVector(label.Location.X, label.Location.Y),
  textSize);
Jul 2, 2010 at 3:49 PM
Edited Jul 2, 2010 at 4:20 PM