CoordinateSystems WKT SpatialRefSys.xml

Topics: SharpMap v0.9 / v1.x
Oct 19, 2010 at 8:04 AM

Hi,

I am new to SharpMap.  I have down loaded version 0.9-Trunk-2009.10.22 and have been playing around mixing up the various demo's and successfully compiling them.

I now wish to introduce "on the fly reprojection".  The concept looks fairly straight forward but a couple of trivial issues are tripping me up.

1/    Raster Layers can't be reprojected on the fly so I wish to identify if a layer is raster or vector before I try reprojecting it.  'If I have a layer already loaded in a map control, how can I determine if it has a raster or vector data source?'

2/   Sometimes the WKT associated in a shapefiles prj file contains the correct parameter info but the coordinate system or datum name may not quite agree with the appropriate text in the SRID.csv file. So I am thinking of writting a get projection dialog form which will try best match and suggest a coordinate system from the SRID.csv file.  I don't wish to reinvent any wheels.  So before I do this I would like to know - 'Has anyone has already done something similar to handle syntax differences between SRID.csv and prj files?'

3/   I also wish to be able to generate Coordinate system WKT from srid's.  The file SpatialReference.cs contains the method SridToWkt(int srid) which references the file 'SpatialRefSys.xml'.  I can't locate this xml file.  Where can I get it from?

Any help appreciated ... Cheers

Coordinator
Oct 19, 2010 at 11:25 AM

Hello PunchCard.

Please do not use the binaries provided via download tab, please compile sharpmap yourself using the latest commit.

1.) As you noticed, on the fly reprojection only works for VectorLayer. Therefore you can test

if (!(map.Layers[i] is VectorLayer))

)
{
}

2.) What is wrong with taking the wkt from the prj file?

3.) where do you have spatialreference.cs from?

Hth FObermaier

Oct 20, 2010 at 8:24 AM

Hi FObermaier,

Thankyou for the quick response!