Suggestion for implementation, please

Topics: Algorithms, Data Access, General Topics, SharpMap Project, SharpMap v2.0, Web Controls
May 18, 2008 at 3:41 AM
      I am a beginner here and have started using Sharpmap only from a few weeks ago. I want to do a project which basically should do the following.
1. It is a web based project. I am intending to use VS web developer 2005 Express edition with C#
2. I will have a form where I will get the user data for a particular region (say, his rating about the place) in India (I have India shapefile till district level). The user will fill up this form with his rating. The rough entries would be state, district, taluk (subdivision of a district in India) and value/rating.
3. I will get this and store it in database
4. From data base, I want to keep dynamically updating the Indian map with these user values with gradient thematics. 

The finest detail the user gives is actually a taluk of a particular district. So, our approximation starts here (that is, places of interest further down the taluk is lost as they all are averaged to the taluk level). But I have a shape file till district level only. So I thought of doing either of the following.
1. To request shapefile till taluk level from any government sources here. If I get that, the question is, how am I going to update the map? Should I update the database file (the one that accompanies the shapefile) with database (user ratings) I have and then use the database file to do the thematics? Or can I, in any way do thematics directly with database?