SharpMap PostGIS Slow

Aug 30, 2008 at 3:39 AM
I'm not sure if this should be here or in a postgresql forum but I am experiencing very slow performance with retrieving data from postgresql.  I am just getting started with SharpMap and I am using SharpMap v0.9, PostgreSQL 8.3, and PostGIS 1.3.3. The bottleneck is the database for some reason.  I have a table of streets with 22 columns and around 80,000 rows and the following sql being executed that takes 12+ seconds:

SELECT AsBinary(the_geom) AS Geom FROM mainroads2 WHERE the_geom && box2d('BOX3D(-99.0017 29.0837142857143,-98.0017 29.7622857142857)'::box3d)

I've created a gist index and selecting any column other than "the_geom" is fast.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Sep 9, 2008 at 8:42 PM
hi

I have same problem with oracle, after some testing I review the problem is the time of transformation from geometry to wkb or wkt standard, I resolve (partialy) the problem modify the conector (oracle.cs) to use directly wkb and wkt, this new field are preview stored (like update poligons set wkb = asbinary(the_geom)), plus add a limit of record view because sharpmap render all poligons (include small poligons than can't view because scale), aditional (because use a second field not original geometry) can simplify the geometry using the Douglas Pecker algoritm (review the funcion in postgis). I need now limit the render if is not visible  to determinated scale but I work on this.

Try to modify the conector.

regards.
Sep 26, 2008 at 12:14 PM
Hi
I have same problem, How you create new field binary?? the type column on Oracle.
and how you limit teh records? What you used?

Sorry my English

regards
Sep 29, 2008 at 5:08 PM
in oracle you can use function on oracle locator (not Express) http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B28359_01/appdev.111/b28400/sdo_util.htm specific use the function: 

update

tablewithsdogeometryfield set fieldwkb = SDO_UTIL.TO_WKBGEOMETRY(geometry)