Total beginner struggles

Topics: General Topics
Mar 31, 2013 at 12:16 AM
Edited Mar 31, 2013 at 12:22 AM
Hello everyone,

I have lots of coordinates I want to plot on a map to look at their distribution. I was going to use System.Drawing and download an image of the world, but then I bumped into SharpMap!

It looks excellent, but I'm struggling to do anything with it. I'm using VS2012 and none of the code examples seem to work.

I have fixed up some things and got a mapbox displaying a map, and I am adding layers but nothing really seems to change.

Does anyone know for a working project/solution I can download to use as a guide please? Most things seem to be geared towards pulling points from a database but mine are in a list object.

Currently this is the rubbish I've cobbled together :)
        SharpMap.Layers.VectorLayer vlay = new SharpMap.Layers.VectorLayer("States");
        vlay.DataSource = new SharpMap.Data.Providers.ShapeFile(@"Packages\states_ugl.shp", true);

//Create the style for Land
        VectorStyle landStyle = new VectorStyle();
        landStyle.Fill = new SolidBrush(Color.FromArgb(232, 232, 232));

//Create the style for Water
        VectorStyle waterStyle = new VectorStyle();
        waterStyle.Fill = new SolidBrush(Color.FromArgb(198, 198, 255));

//Create the map
        Dictionary<string, SharpMap.Styles.IStyle> styles = new Dictionary<string, IStyle>();
        styles.Add("land", landStyle);
        styles.Add("water", waterStyle);

//Assign the theme
        vlay.Theme = new SharpMap.Rendering.Thematics.UniqueValuesTheme<string>("class", styles, landStyle);

mapBox1.Map.Layers.Add(vlay);

SharpMap.Layers.VectorLayer vectorLayer = new VectorLayer("GeometryLayer");

Collection<GeoAPI.Geometries.IGeometry> geomColl = new Collection<GeoAPI.Geometries.IGeometry>();

//Get the default geometry factory
        GeoAPI.GeometryServiceProvider.Instance = new NetTopologySuite.NtsGeometryServices();